Subscribe Today

26 Issues

In addition to receiving 26 issues of The Independent Kansas City’s Journal of Society, your subscription will include our annual publication, the Charitable Events Calendar and a subscription to our e-newsletter, The Insider. Questions about your current subscription? Contact Laura Gabriel at 816-471-2800.

Hyman Brand Hebrew Academy – 50th Jubilee Civic Service Celebration

Hyman Brand Hebrew Academy’s 50th Jubilee Civic Service Celebration will be held on March 10th at the Kansas City Marriott Downtown. Mindy Corporon will be honored with the Civic Service Award. Guests will enjoy a wonderful evening to celebrate the work of Mindy, who founded the SevenDays organization. Dianne and Congressman Emanuel Cleaver II, Peggy and Terry Dunn, and Debbie Sosland-Edelman and Alan Edelman are the honorary co-chairs, and Jane and Josh Sosland are the event chairs. HBHA is celebrating 57 years of educating and developing a diverse community of Jewish students, while cultivating independent and ethical leaders.

Event Chairs Josh and Jane Sosland


Honoree Mindy Corporon

Featured in the January 27, 2024 issue of The Independent. 


War Horses For Veterans – The Derby Party

War Horses for Veterans, founded by Andy and Patricia Brown, held its third annual fundraiser, The Derby Party, on May 4th. More than 400 guests watched the Kentucky Derby race…

Symphony League of Kansas City – Spring Luncheon

Lidia’s was the lovely location for the Symphony League of Kansas City’s annual Spring Luncheon on May 8th. Mandy Burditt and Trish Mayer were the co-chairmen. Nearly 60 members and…

Symphony League of Kansas City – Ball Kickoff

Symphony League members gathered at Amy Volini’s beautiful home recently to kick off preparations for the 2024 Symphony Ball, “NOVA.”Amy and Julie Sykes hosted the fun event, where Ball Chairman…

Saint Luke’s Foundation – Spirit of Philanthropy Awards

In the spirit of gratitude, Saint Luke’s Foundation hosted its Spirit of Philanthropy Awards celebration on April 18th at the 1900 Building. Being honored this year are: Philanthropists of the…