Subscribe Today

26 Issues

In addition to receiving 26 issues of The Independent Kansas City’s Journal of Society, your subscription will include our annual publication, the Charitable Events Calendar and a subscription to our e-newsletter, The Insider. Questions about your current subscription? Contact Laura Gabriel at 816-471-2800.

Alphapointe – C&C Group Alphapointe Pro-Am

The Country Club at Loch Lloyd was the site for Alphapointe’s annual C&C Group Alphapointe Pro-Am tournament on June 5th. More than 160 golfers enjoyed the challenging course, an auction, bites, and beverages. Proceeds support youth experiencing vision loss to access, with confidence, a variety of programs, including two summer camps, art programs, and culinary classes.

Curtis Rayburn, Nick McFee, George Plassmann, Jeremy Teong, and Jake McCabe


Jeremy Dear, pro winner


Mike Dickerson, Ryan Dickerson, Brad Volker, Pete Robbins, and Jim Day


Jy Maze, Bobbi Simms, and Jerald Maze


Rick Seithel, Brent Elder, Sam Silvio, and Pat Thetford


Tim Ahders, Sarah Jasen, Alan Miretzky, Tom England, and Jared Paul

Featured in the July 22, 2023 issue of The Independent.


War Horses For Veterans – The Derby Party

War Horses for Veterans, founded by Andy and Patricia Brown, held its third annual fundraiser, The Derby Party, on May 4th. More than 400 guests watched the Kentucky Derby race…

Symphony League of Kansas City – Spring Luncheon

Lidia’s was the lovely location for the Symphony League of Kansas City’s annual Spring Luncheon on May 8th. Mandy Burditt and Trish Mayer were the co-chairmen. Nearly 60 members and…

Symphony League of Kansas City – Ball Kickoff

Symphony League members gathered at Amy Volini’s beautiful home recently to kick off preparations for the 2024 Symphony Ball, “NOVA.”Amy and Julie Sykes hosted the fun event, where Ball Chairman…

Saint Luke’s Foundation – Spirit of Philanthropy Awards

In the spirit of gratitude, Saint Luke’s Foundation hosted its Spirit of Philanthropy Awards celebration on April 18th at the 1900 Building. Being honored this year are: Philanthropists of the…