Subscribe Today

26 Issues

In addition to receiving 26 issues of The Independent Kansas City’s Journal of Society, your subscription will include our annual publication, the Charitable Events Calendar and a subscription to our e-newsletter, The Insider. Questions about your current subscription? Contact Laura Gabriel at 816-471-2800.

The 2022 Jewel Ball

Kathy Hunt Woodward (Mrs. Phillip Scott Woodward) was the chairman for The Jewel Ball, a benefit for The Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art and the Kansas City Symphony. The event was held on June 18th at the Museum. Mary Jane Young Barnes (Mrs. Bryant Page Barnes) was the honorary chairman, with Anne Potter Russ (Mrs. Norbert Russ) serving as the vice chairman.      

Honorary Chairman Mrs. Bryant Page Barnes with Mrs. Droste DeForest Milledge, Jr.


Miss Josephine Grace Lenger, Miss Quinci Compton Cartmell, Miss Lauren Bartlett Wilson, Miss Kennedy Duffy Wolf, Miss Morgan Lilith Mos, and Miss Elizabeth Singleton Coady


Mrs. Nelson Raymond Sabates


Mrs. Stephen Gerard Mos, Mrs. Gerard Jacob Mos III, Miss Morgan Lilith Mos, and Mr. Stephen Gerard Mos


(Front row) Mr. John Henry McQuaid, Jenny Turner Tuttle, Mrs. John Frederick Roney, and Mr. and Mrs. Scott Morehouse Mann (back row) Mr. Roney


Jewel Ball Chairman Mrs. Phillip Scott Woodward and Mr. Woodward


Mr. James Edward Reintjes


Mrs. Mark Russell Frame with several of the debutantes


Guests enjoyed dancing to the music of Simply Irresistible.


Featured in the August 6, 2022 issue of The Independent.
Photo credit: Wirken Photography