Subscribe Today

26 Issues

In addition to receiving 26 issues of The Independent Kansas City’s Journal of Society, your subscription will include our annual publication, the Charitable Events Calendar and a subscription to our e-newsletter, The Insider. Questions about your current subscription? Contact Laura Gabriel at 816-471-2800.

Lyric Opera Circle – Holiday Luncheon

Members of the Lyric Opera Circle celebrated the holiday season with a festive event at the Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts. Guests enjoyed a delectable menu and entertainment from resident artists of the Lyric Opera of Kansas City. Carolyn Price, Mary Leonida, and Pamela Bruce were the hosts for the December 7th event. 

Jo Anne Dondlinger, Jenny Manka, Cindy Wurm, and Peggy Beal


Karla Batlle, Ball honorary chairman; with Juliette Singer and Edie Downing, Ball co-chairmen


Lisa Pruch, Karen Yungmeyer, Mary Leonida, host; Carmen Sabates, Circle president-elect; Carolyn Price, host; and Kimberlee Ried


Mary Beth Gentry, Circle president; and Carmen Sabates, Circle president-elect

Featured in the January 7, 2023 issue of The Independent.
Photo Credit: John Caulfield



War Horses For Veterans – The Derby Party

War Horses for Veterans, founded by Andy and Patricia Brown, held its third annual fundraiser, The Derby Party, on May 4th. More than 400 guests watched the Kentucky Derby race…

Symphony League of Kansas City – Spring Luncheon

Lidia’s was the lovely location for the Symphony League of Kansas City’s annual Spring Luncheon on May 8th. Mandy Burditt and Trish Mayer were the co-chairmen. Nearly 60 members and…

Symphony League of Kansas City – Ball Kickoff

Symphony League members gathered at Amy Volini’s beautiful home recently to kick off preparations for the 2024 Symphony Ball, “NOVA.”Amy and Julie Sykes hosted the fun event, where Ball Chairman…

Saint Luke’s Foundation – Spirit of Philanthropy Awards

In the spirit of gratitude, Saint Luke’s Foundation hosted its Spirit of Philanthropy Awards celebration on April 18th at the 1900 Building. Being honored this year are: Philanthropists of the…