Subscribe Today

26 Issues

In addition to receiving 26 issues of The Independent Kansas City’s Journal of Society, your subscription will include our annual publication, the Charitable Events Calendar and a subscription to our e-newsletter, The Insider. Questions about your current subscription? Contact Laura Gabriel at 816-471-2800.

Kansas City Ballet Guild – 56th annual Ballet Ball

December 1st will be the evening for the 56th annual Ballet Ball, hosted by the Kansas City Ballet Guild. Susan Lordi Marker and Dennis Marker will be the honorary chairmen. Jo Anne Dondlinger will serve as the Ball chairman, and Cyndi James is the Guild’s incoming president. The event, which will be held at The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center, will feature presentations by Kansas City Ballet School students, delicious cuisine, a raffle, and dancing to the sounds of KOKOMO. Proceeds are earmarked for Kansas City Ballet performances, the award-winning Kansas City Ballet School, and numerous educational programs in Our Town. 

Cyndi James, Guild incoming president


Jo Anne Dondlinger, Ball chairman

Featured in the May 13, 2023 issue of The Independent.
Photo credit: Strauss Peyton


2024 Class of Rising Stars – Amy Barnthouse

Known for her extensive charitable work in Kansas City, Amy Barnthouse has earned her recognition as one of The Independent’s  Rising Stars of 2024. For many years, she has dedicated…

2024 Starry Night at Starlight

The stars will be out – all of the Starry Night at Starlight stars, that is! On July 27th, a group of Kansas City’s most dynamic charitable movers and shakers…

The Kansas City Ballet Guild – 57th annual Ballet Ball

The Kansas City Ballet Guild will host its 57th annual Ballet Ball on December 7th at the Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center. The Nutcracker Ball will help celebrate…

Kansas City Girls Preparatory Academy – Leading with Love

Kansas City Girls Preparatory Academy will host a celebration to mark its first five years on September 6th at Loews Kansas City Hotel. Members of the Celebration Committee for Leading…