Subscribe Today

26 Issues

In addition to receiving 26 issues of The Independent Kansas City’s Journal of Society, your subscription will include our annual publication, the Charitable Events Calendar and a subscription to our e-newsletter, The Insider. Questions about your current subscription? Contact Laura Gabriel at 816-471-2800.

HappyBottoms – 2023 Diaper Bowl

September 11th was the date for HappyBottoms’ third annual Diaper Bowl. More than 400 guests enjoyed being pampered with beverages, bites, live music, and auctions. Proceeds from the event enhance efforts to make diapers available to those who need them most, and there are an estimated 22,000 children in Kansas City who need diaper assistance. Congratulations and a Hug(gies) to those who supported the cause.

HappyBottoms Staff Members: (Front row) Kaylea Dennis and Ashley Allison (back row) Brittany Brungardt, Brandon Selig-Votaw, Andrea Babbit, Elizabeth Mayer, Susan Belger Angulo, Lorna Walker, Kevin Ball, and Lori Hays


Volunteers Deb Haber and Joanie Smith


Board Chairman Shari Nelson addressed the guests.

Featured in the October 14, 2023 issue of The Independent.


War Horses For Veterans – The Derby Party

War Horses for Veterans, founded by Andy and Patricia Brown, held its third annual fundraiser, The Derby Party, on May 4th. More than 400 guests watched the Kentucky Derby race…

Symphony League of Kansas City – Spring Luncheon

Lidia’s was the lovely location for the Symphony League of Kansas City’s annual Spring Luncheon on May 8th. Mandy Burditt and Trish Mayer were the co-chairmen. Nearly 60 members and…

Symphony League of Kansas City – Ball Kickoff

Symphony League members gathered at Amy Volini’s beautiful home recently to kick off preparations for the 2024 Symphony Ball, “NOVA.”Amy and Julie Sykes hosted the fun event, where Ball Chairman…

Saint Luke’s Foundation – Spirit of Philanthropy Awards

In the spirit of gratitude, Saint Luke’s Foundation hosted its Spirit of Philanthropy Awards celebration on April 18th at the 1900 Building. Being honored this year are: Philanthropists of the…